GWXconfigmanager Linked to Windows Patch

I received a call this morning in regards to a piece of software called GWX Config Manager attempting to access the Internet (Allow / Block). I personally hadn’t heard of this until today and thus thought it wise to apply some research on the matter.

To my absolute amazement it turns out that this is linked to a Microsoft Update (KB3035583) released 24/25th March 2015 (read more here https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3035583), which is actually a Windows 10 ad / downloader that will probably produce pop-up messages to end users about upgrading to Windows 10. Microsoft are not confirming or denying or saying too much about the truth behind KB3035583 update however, many anti-virus websites and other bloggers have stated that GWX aka. Get Windows X (10) will sit dormant until Microsoft feel they are ready to release the “FREE” upgrade later this year (Summer 2015) and when they do, this clever application will download and install it AUTOMATICALLY – (Yikes!!!)

Description of KB3035583 Update

Description of KB3035583 Update

Further investigations have shown that on many anti-virus providers websites reports show that some if not all of the following files are being blocked / quarantined as they are seen as malicious files or PuPs (Potentially unwanted Programs).

Config.xml
Gwxgc.exe
Gwx.exe
Gwxconfigmanager.exe
Gwxui.dll
Gwxux.exe
Gwxuxworker.exe

This in turn will produce error messages as the update will not been classified as being installed correctly and you might get repeated prompts to download and install it.

What is Windows 10?

Windows 10 is the next release of Microsoft’s Operating System (OS) and is designed to produce a better user experience for Desktop, Laptop and Tablet users with a bunch of other cool stuff, the plan is to release it later in the year (2015).

Microsoft will offer a direct “FREE” upgrade for qualified Windows 7, Windows 8.1 and Windows 8.1 Phone devices as long as you upgrade in the first year. You can read more here http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-10/about.

What Does This Mean & What Should I Do?

Well that is up to you personally or your IT Administrator, IF this is all true and if you want to have Microsoft reminding you or your staff with banners and pop-ups about upgrading to Windows 10 and then automatically install it then let it be. However this WILL put a strain on your computer / network especially if you have several (or several 100) Windows devices. Also as we always advise as you have no idea what will happen to your computer(s) when they upgrade automatically (for example, will your software applications cease to work) our advice would be DON’T DO IT until you are happy that it won’t destroy your computer and worse still potentially loose your data.

for more help or advice about what to do about this issue you can contact support by emailing support@rlscomuters.co.uk.

Social Share Toolbar

4 thoughts on “GWXconfigmanager Linked to Windows Patch

  1. Thank you for this article, I have been badgered with this update constantly,
    I never install any updates without first checking what it actually is I am allowing MS to do to my machine & i NEVER have ‘automatically download and install updates’ set as the default action.
    When this update was initially released I read up and decided I did not want it because I have no intention of migrating to WindowsX (10), so of course I chose to ‘hide’ the update as Windows was hassling me to install it every time I rebooted my machine (about once a fortnight).
    Yet, every Tuesday regular as clockwork MS tells me I NEED to install this update and it reappears even after being ‘hidden’.

    I think it is time to migrate to Linux and get away from the corporate bloated crap that is Windows

  2. Pingback: How To Get Microsoft Windows 10 | RLS Computer Services

  3. OK, something new to learn.

    Your article says ‘worse still potentially loose your data’

    Can you explain the concept of ‘loose’ data? Something that is in the public domain that you wanted to keep secret?

    • What I mean by losing your data is that, by upgrading your OS without first backing up your data puts you in danger if something was to go wrong and then you lose important or critical data. We also advise that you backup your data before implementing a critical change with your computer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *